>An open letter to Tony K

>Dear Mr. Kornheiser,

I’ve tuned into Monday Night Football this evening to watch the epic showdown between my beloved Titans and the Indianapolis Colts.

Mr. Kornheiser, you’re a very amusing columnist and you’re fairly entertaining on your show “Pardon the Interruption.” And maybe you think you’re being funny, witty or urbane in your commentary tonight, but the only thing I find in it are constant put downs of my team, my city and my state.

I’m sorry if you’re upset you had to come to this “small market” to see this game with a team that you apparently have little, if any respect for. I’m sorry that we’ve undefeated (as of this writing, when it’s tied in the third quarter) and that this somehow offends your delicate sensibilities and the way you think the world should be.

I say to you, Mr. Kornheiser, get over it. Sure, the Titans have beat a lot of teams with not so hot records so far this year. But it’s not their fault those teams are having down years. The Titans have merely taken advantage of the situation to get to where they are. They’ve won the games they should. We’ve had some good breaks, but you can say that of every team with a winning record, not just the Titans.

And no, the Titans don’t have to win this game to earn the respect of the country. We should have it becuase we’re playing good football with a solid defense, nice running game. Yes, we have some questions when it comes to the passing game, but we get the job done…again, I point out that we’ve won six games so far this year. But instead, self-appointed little media members like yourself shout out that Tennessee can’t or shouldn’t get respect or have to earn it. No, we’ve earned it already, sir. It’s just you who can’t seem to accept it.

Here in the South, we have an old saying. If you can’t say something nice, you shouldn’t say anything at all. Maybe you should try it out…

Oh wait, that wasn’t very nice of me, was it?

Sincerely,
Big Orange Michael

Leave a comment