A Different Reflection on 9/11

Like many of us, I can vividly recall exactly where I was and what I was doing on the day of September 11th.

A dozen years later, I can still recall the pain, horror, fear and surreal feelings of that day.

I’m sure I’m not alone in that.

But another memory also comes to mind from that time.  For those of you who may not remember, the events of September 11th happened the Tuesday before the Vols were scheduled to head down for our annual showdown with Florida.

If you’d asked me on Monday, September 10th what I wanted most, it was to watch that game and to see the Vols finally stick it to Steve Spurrier in the Swamp.

As the week went along and conferences and sports across the country postponed games, the SEC didn’t make any move to push the game back or cancel it.  And I recall having a conversation with someone that while I loved UT football, I was in no mood to watch UT play Florida that weekend.

“It just doesn’t seem right,” I said.

The game was eventually postponed to the first weekend of December.  By then, I felt a bit more like celebrating and watching the Vols take on Florida.    I recall gathering with friends with friends to watch the game, hanging on every play until the Vols pulled off the huge win by two points with a two-point conversion stand and then recovering an on-side kick to ice the game.   It’s a fond memory of not only UT football, but also the fellowship with some good friends as we enjoyed watching the game.

It propelled us into the SEC title game that year…but well, the less said about that game the better.

Anyway, it’s just a different take on 9/11…and while I don’t want to take away from remembering the sacrifices of the men and women on the day and in the days beyond it, for some reason that memory came to me this morning as I was reflecting on that tragic day twelve years ago.

Leave a Reply

