One More Day!

USA Today's glowing review of Spider-Man 2 is up. The movie gets four stars and is called "a hands down hit." (No, I won't be at a midnight showing tonight to see it. I've not heard about any in the Nashville area.)

As if the new movie weren't enough, the original 60's cartoon makes its debut on DVD today. (DVD Talk features a pretty nice review of it) USA Today had a chat with the original voice of Spider-Man, Paul Soles. Transcript of chat. I know that it's probably cheesy and corny, but some part of me woud LOVE to have pick-up this DVD set. The first season or so is adaptations of some of the classic Stan Lee/Steve Ditko early Spider-Man stories which I read over and over again in Marvel Tales reprints as a kid.

And how can you not love the theme song?!? Spider-Man, Spider-man! Does whatever a spider can! Spins a web any size. Can't you see, just like flies! Look out! Here comes a Spider-Man!

And the title is…Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince.
And from what I've heard the prince of the title is neither Harry nor Voldemort. The bad news–no expected publication date yet.

Fox Struggling With All-Season Scheduling
As I told Fox two weeks ago, this new summer season is nothing to write home about. Hence why viewers aren't flocking to the screens to see these new programs and why they are flocking to your sister, cable station to watch shows like Nip/Tuck. Two things strike me from the article. I wish Keen Eddie had aired this summer because it might have had a better shot at surviving. And secondly, I hope that Quadruplets isn't going up in numbers. I haven't seen an episode since I lost half-an-hour of my life to the pilot, but I really wish they'd cancel it and put poor Andy Richter out of his misery.

Dave Barry's latest column is all about the monster best-selling novel, The DaVinci Code. As usual with Barry, I completely cracked up while reading it. (Please note: registration is required to read the article, but it's free!) I've read both The DaVinci Code and its predecessor Angels and Demons. Both are good books that I enjoyed reading. Are they great literature? Not my a long shot, but they're both still great escapist readings for a rainy day or as beach or pool-side reading this summer.

I found it interesting that MaeveKerry discussed the book on the same day that Dave's column came out. And if you're looking for a quick review, check out The Inn of the Last Home's Two Second Reviews of Dan Brown's books..

Vol football legends gather for reunion shoot
It's good to see Phillip Fulmer and Johnny Majors both be big enough men to put aside whatever anomosity exists between them in order to celebrate the history of UT football. Sure, the part of me that is cyncical says–you can put aside a lot of things if you're paid well enough, but that doesn't necessarily seem to be the case here. In any event, this story about the history and the pagentry that is Big Orange football makes me interested in seeing this production and for football season to be upon us.

Finally, Frank Ritter's column from this morning's Tennessean, Twain reminds us that secrets are to be kept, is well worth reading.

Leave a comment