Theater Thursday

This week sees the opening of the film adaptation of Isaac Asimov’s classic “I, Robot” starring Will Smith.

Actually, this movie was in production and they purchased the rights to “I, Robot” (which is a set of short stories) so they could use the name recongition. So, it’s not really an adaptation, though it does look like they’re using the Three Rules of Robotics to some degree.

1) Who or what is your favorite movie robot?

Tough choice as there are so many. I’m going to have to go with my childhood favorite, R2-D2.

2) Will we ever see the day where walking, talking robots truly become a part of every day life?

I think that day is coming, yes.

3) Should a robot ever be programmed to kill a human?

You mean like the Termantor, no. If the robot is required to kill to defend itself or another human being, then yes.

BONUS) If you had a personal robot, what would you call it? What would you like it to do for you?

I’d call the robot Herman. I have no idea why. And I would have the robot do all the stuff I didn’t really want to do so I could surf the Net and blog more…

Leave a comment