Friday Feast and other things…

Appetizer

Name 3 cosmetics/toiletries that you use on a daily basis.

Crest tootpaste, Shaving cream, Shampoo

Soup

Approximately how much exercise do you get per week, and what type of exercise is it (walking, running, swimming, etc.)?

Quite a bit, actually. I try to work out at least five days a week. I swim every time I work out–in fact, if I only have time to do one form of exercise, I’ll swim laps. I try to spin twice a week. And I’ll do other stuff the other three days. But swimming…always swimming.

Salad

Write a sentence including your favorite color and your favorite food.

I spilled lasagna on my new orange and white Tennessee shirt.

Main Course

What famous person/celebrity do you think you look like?

People tell me I look like Jarrod from the Subway commericals.

Dessert

Name 2 simple things that never fail to make you happy

Getting time to spend with my niece and nephew. A creame pie shake from Sonic.


OK, after posting my 100 things about me, Amy had some questions that I figured I’d answer here and not in the comments section.

The first was–what is spinning?

Spinning is a form of exercise invented by this guy named Johnny G, who is some kind of super bicycling enthusiast. (I only know this because in Augusta, instructions used to refer to him and give us tidbits of info about him). He designed a stationary bike with a heavy fly (front) wheel and the ability to increase or decrease resistance as you worked on the bike. I think his first goal was to help bicycle riders train, but they soon found it was a great workout. By increasing or decreating the resistance on the wheel, you can get a variety of workouts. You can get your heart rate into a couple of different zones, so you can get a fat burning workout, a cardio workout, an endurance workout. The classes are facillitated by someone who has endless CDs of music and it helps make it a bit more fun. You work both in the seat and standing up, doing things like climbing hills, sprinting, building up strength, etc. It’s really actaully kind of fun, though I will warn you that your behind will be sore the first few times as the seats aren’t exactly designed to maximize comfort.

How did I get plagerized while in college?

During my time working for the UT Institute of Agriculture, I researched and wrote a couple of articles–one was on the chicken industry coming to Tennessee. I think it was my first article for them and it was published in the Institute’s magazine. Well, a few weeks later, they got in piece from one of the local counties that lifted my article word for word but eliminated my byline and sent it out to people. No credit was given to where the article was orginally published. So, I was prety irritated about that. But hey, I guess more people got to read it, so that’s not too bad, right?

Leave a comment