>Former President Ronald Reagan Dies at 93

A great president has passed away today–possibly the greatest president of the last century in fact. He took a nation that was stumbling and made it “morning again in America.”

I was very young at the time when Reagan was elected. One thing I do remember was when he was shot by John Hinkley. I remember not really understanding it all, but that our president was in the hospital. My sister and I made cards for President Reagan and sent them to his hospital. A couple of weeks later, we each got back a card from President Reagan, thanking us for the card and prayers. Sure, it was probably nothing more than a standard response with a stamp of his signature on it, but to the little kid at the time, it was one of the coolest things I’d ever received. I think I may still have that card somewhere in a scrapbook now that I think about it.

We’ve lost a great American today. My thoughts and prayers are with his family and friends. Thank you Ronald Reagan for your service to our country. May you find peace.

Leave a comment